Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Short ETFs for Dummies

Default Short ETFs for Dummies

I'm just beginning to learn about Short ETFs. If others are in the same boat, maybe you'd like to learn along with me.

Here's a thumbnail sketch of SH, SKF and SRS:

ETFs For Momentum Investors

"As Wall Street continues to try to get a proper footing, stocks and exchange traded funds (ETFs) keep on riding the prevailing trends of weakness, but there are some investment tools that are gaining some momentum. Short ETFs are gaining some positive ground in the early part of 2009 and they may complement a portfolio strategy if properly used, writes Ron DeLegge for ETF Guide.

But it is noted that a potential investor needs to fully comprehend how the products work. Because of expense ratios, tracking error market forces, and the product structure, the performance of short ETFs would almost never mirror the percise opposite returns of their corresponding indexes.

Momentum investors aim to capitalize on the continuance of existing trends in the market, and believe that large increases in the price of a security will be followed by more gains.
    If this is your style, DeLegge notes the following ETFs: ...."

http://www.dailymarkets.com/stocks/2...tum-investors/

Lady

Default Re: Short ETFs for Dummies

Here is a 2/3/2009 article that explains more about shorts, with some pluses and minuses:

Bad Is Good with Short ETFs

"We’re nearly a month into the New Year, the U.S. has a new president, and many investors are looking forward with more than a little trepidation, wondering if it’s at all possible to eke out a few gains in the coming months. It’s a safe bet most investors didn’t do well last year. A quick look at how the major indexes have down in the last 13 months sums it up fairly well: the DOW’s down 39%, the S&P fell 43%, and the Nasdaq slid nearly 44% since the beginning of 2008.